On September 4, India and Pakistan faced off for the second time in the Asia Cup 2022, this time in the Super 4s stage in Dubai. When the two teams faced in the group stage last Sunday, India came out on top.

After winning the toss, Babar Azam elected to bowl first. Both teams had to make a few changes, with Pakistan replacing the injured Shahnawaz Dahani with Mohammad Hasnain.

India, on the other hand, replaced Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, and Avesh Khan with Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, and Ravi Bishnoi.

In the powerplay, India opener Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul went after the Pakistani bowlers, adding 54 runs in 5.1 overs before Rohit Sharma was out to Haris Rauf for 28 in 16 balls with three fours and two sixes.

KL Rahul kept going and smashed 28 in 20 balls with two sixes and one four.

Despite Virat Kohli held the innings together, smashing 60 in 44 balls with four fours and one six before being run out in the last over, India lost some momentum. Suryakumar Yadav scored 13, Rishabh Pant scored 14, and Hardik Pandya dropped a duck.

Deepak Hooda made a 16-run cameo. Ravi Bishnoi struck two fours off the final two balls to help India reach 181/7 in 20 overs.

Pakistan’s spinners Shadab Khan (2/31) and Mohammad Nawaz (1/25) were instrumental in limiting runs in the middle overs. Rauf, Naseem, and Hasnain each took one wicket.

Rizwan’s 71

Mohammad Rizwan was Pakistan’s finest batter once more, slamming his third consecutive fifty in the Asia Cup. He made 71 in 51 balls, including 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Babar Azam scored 14 runs, but Mohammad Nawaz provided the finest support with 42 runs in 20 balls, his best T20I score.

Despite losing critical wickets, Khushdil Shah and Asif Ali appeared set to lead Pakistan to victory when Bhuvneshwar Kumar was bowled for 19 runs in the 19th over, with 26 needed in the final 12 balls.

The match came down to the final ball, with 5 wickets in hand, and the victory came on the penultimate delivery.

India’s unbeaten record in the Asia Cup tournament came to an end, as they had not lost a single match in the 2016 and 2018 editions, with one tie.